Kandongu

Project "Kandongu" is sourge of Njoki's cooperation with Kenya. The elementary school (preschool + grades 1-8), run by catholic friars, follows the vision of supporting children from families who cannot afford to pay school fees. As this attempt often led to instability of the school (school fees are the main source of income for the institution), it is important for Kandongu to establish income generating and cost reducing projects.

Since 2012, 8 classrooms, 8 teachers' apartments, 2 dormitories have been built, electricity and water supply has been ensured and the population of the school has tripled. Over a hundred children have been provided free education so far. A large farm feeds much of the school community and a bakery established this year lays the foundation for a more balanced diet and profit generation.

In close cooperation with Br. Francis Macharia, current director and co-founder of the school, and Ignatius Atuma (former headteacher), Njoki has achieved and learned a lot together with a network of supporters locally and in Germany: Where support makes sense, when it is more of a curse than a blessing, and why one does not always does good when one wants to help. Thus, mutual understanding and learning from and with each other has become the most valuable pillar of this project.

Alle Beiträge zum Projekt hier

News from Kandongu:

No posts published in this language yet
Stay tuned...

Kandongu

Projekt "Kandongu" ist Urprung Njoki's Zusammenarbeit mit Kenia. Die von katholischen Brüdern geführte Grundschule (Vorschule + Klassen 1-8) folgt der Vision, auch Kindern aus Famlien zu unterstützen, die sich die Bezahlung von Schulgebühren nicht leisten können. Da dieser Versuch oft zur Instabilität der Schule führte (die Schulgebühren stellen die wichtigste Einnahmequelle der Institution dar), gilt es für Kandongu Einkommen generierende und Kosten reduzierende Projekte zu etablieren.

Seit 2012 konnten 8 Klassenzimmer, 8 Lehrerwohnungen, 2 Schlafsäle gebaut, die Strom- und Wasserversorgung sichergestellt und die Population der Schule verdreifacht werden. Über hundert Kindern wurde bislang kostenlose Bildung ermöglicht. Eine große Farm ernährt zu großen Teilen die Schulcommunity und eine in diesem Jahr etablierte Bäckerei legt die Grundlage für eine ausgewogenere Ernährung und Profitgenerierung.

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Br. Francis Macharia, derzeitiger Direktor und Mitgründer der Schule und Ignatius Atuma (ehemaliger Headteacher) hat Njoki mit einem Netz an Unterstützer*innen vor Ort und in Deutschland Vieles erreicht und Wichtiges gelernt: Wo  Unterstützung sinnvoll ist, wann sie mehr Fluch als Segen bedeutet und warum man nicht immer Gutes tut, wenn man helfen möchte. So ist das gegenseitige Verstehen und von- und miteinander Lernen wertvollster Pfeiler dieses Projektes geworden.

Alle Beiträge zum Projekt hier

Neueste Beiträge zu Kandongu: