Water supply: Typically 'African Problem'?

Water solution after 12 years or What I learned from the struggle with drought


painting brushes

In February 2021, just in time for Corona time, the water supply in the Kandongu project could be secured! Almost 400 children, 7 hectares of the school's own farm and the community of about 20 brothers and workers on site are supplied. This place is an example for the whole area.


12 years of struggle with drought


10 water barrels were purchased in 12 years, hundreds of meters of rain gutters were installed, and pumps were installed at the nearby waterhole. But water was always a scarce commodity. In the dry season, water had to be drawn from rivers in the surrounding area, showering and washing clothes was reduced and the harvest dried up as soon as expected rain failed to materialize.



A well ensures farm, drinking water and hygiene

Then, at the beginning of 2021, after two attempts, it was possible to dig a well of sufficient depth to supply the whole school with a pump and a water level. The value of this achievement can be guessed at, but perhaps only really understood if one has walked, felt, thought the whole way.



A typical African problem? What I learned from the fight for water


„I have learned here to value every drop of water. Here, the uncompromising dependence of every life on this liquid gold is palpable, whereas in Germany we can easily feel separated from this fact.

For the first time, I have tangibly experienced here what affects us worldwide: we are dependent on water as on nothing else. That water is life seems clear and perhaps banal to us. But in our self-evident mass consumption of water there is also the truth that we have forgotten that water is an element of our planet, not a product of waterworks. Water is only there as long as we are mindful of water, as long as we not only recognize our dependence on nature, but maintain it in an appreciative way, and if we stop believing that problems such as 'water scarcity' only affect countries where aid organizations drill water holes and build wells. The dependency is the same - here as there, only we have partially forgotten the reference and the measure.

I am grateful for this valuable reminder that I experience here in the Kandongu project.






3 views

Recent Posts

See All
_04a2175%25201_edited_edited.png

Hey, I'm writing for you live from Kenya!

The discrepancy between what we think we know about far away realities and the actual self-perception of people on the ground is especially visible to me in this time of 'global crisis'. Njoki creates contributions that...

Don't miss any posts!

  • Facebook

Water supply: Typically 'African Problem'?

Wasserlösung nach 12 Jahren oder Was ich vom Kampf mit der Trockenheit lernen durfte


painting brushes

Im Februar 2021, gerade rechtzeitig zur Corona-Zeit, konnte die Wasserversorgung im Projekt Kandongu gesichert werden! Fast 400 Kinder, 7 Hektar schuleigene Farm und die Community von ca. 20 Brüdern und Arbeiter*innen vor Ort sind versorgt. Damit ist dieser Ort ein Bespiel für die ganze Umgebung.


12 Jahre Kampf mit der Trockenheit


10 Wassertonnen wurden in 12 Jahren gekauft, hunderte Meter Regenrinnen angebracht und Pumpen am nahegelegenen Wasserloch installiert. Doch Wasser war stets ein knappes Gut. In der Trockenzeit musste Wasser von Flüssen der Umgebung geschöpft werden, Duschen und Wäschewaschen wurde reduziert und die Ernte vertrocknete, sobald erwarteter Regen ausblieb.



Ein Wasserloch sichert Farm, Trinkwasser und Hygiene

Anfang 2021 dann, nach zwei Anläufen, konnte ein Wasserloch in ausreichender Tiefe gegraben werden, das mit einer Pumpe und einem Wasserstand die ganze Schule versorgt. Den Wert dieser Errungenschaft kann man zwar erahnen, doch vielleicht nur wirklich begreifen, wenn man den ganzen Weg mitgegangen, gefühlt, gedacht hat.



Typisch afrikanisches Problem? Was ich vom Kampf ums Wasser lernen durfte


„Ich habe hier gelernt, jeden Tropfen Wasser wertzuschätzen. Hier ist die kompromisslose Abhängigkeit jedes Lebens von diesem flüssigen Gold spürbar, während wir in Deutschland von dieser Tatsache leicht getrennt werden.”

Zum ersten Mal habe ich hier spürbar miterlebt, was uns weltweit betrifft: wir sind abhängig von Wasser, wie von nichts anderem. Dass Wasser Leben ist, scheint uns klar und vielleicht banal. In unserem selbstverständlichen Massenverbrauch von Wasser steckt jedoch auch die Wahrheit, dass wir vergessen haben, dass Wasser ein Element unseres Planeten ist, kein Produkt von Wasserwerken. Wasser ist nur da, solange wir achtsam mit Wasser umgehen, solange wir die Abhängigkeit von der Natur nicht nur anerkennen, sondern wertschätzend aufrecht erhalten und wenn wir aufhören zu glauben, Problematiken wie 'Wasserknappheit' betreffe nur Länder, in denen von Hilfsorganisationen Wasserlöcher gebohrt und Brunnen gebaut werden. Die Abhängigkeit ist dieselbe - hier wie dort, nur haben wir den Bezug und das Maß teilweise vergessen.

Ich bin dankbar für dieses wertvolle Erinnert-Werden, das ich hier im Projekt Kandongu erfahre.






Hallo, ich schreibe für  euch live aus Kenia!

Die Diskrepanz zwischen dem, was wir glauben über weit entfernte Realitäten zu wissen und der tatsächlichen Selbstwahrnehmung von Menschen vor Ort, wird für mich besonders in dieser Zeit der 'globalen Krise' sichtbar. Njoki erschafft Beiträge, die...

Keine Beiträge verpassen.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram